Skip to content

Guest Blog by Landon Wadley, RN #Cusco14

March 7, 2014

Hello from Cusco, Peru! What a trip it has been so far. Another medical mission campaign is in the books and what a winner it’s been. The official numbers will soon be out and I hope you’re as simultaneously wowed and thankful as I am for such a wonderful work that has borne and will bear many fruits for God’s kingdom. While it was no doubt the most successful campaign we’ve had thus far from a sheer numbers standpoint, I unfortunately was only able to play a much smaller role then I intended at the outset of the campaign. Forces beyond my control saw to this rather abruptly. In case you didn’t know, it’s an unspoken truth that with this wonderful week of devoted service to God there’s going to be at least one person who is given the pleasure of only hearing the wonderful things being done while they’re hunkered in the bed, fetal positioned, trying to find their happy place while a vicious Peruvian bug introduces them to a new definition of pain and suffering. As you may have guessed, the honor of being the first fell to me this year.

Monday morning, it was the first day of the campaign. Preparations made, spirits high, devo done, people being served, and surprise! By 10:00, I’m getting worried,but by 10:30 there’s no mistaking it, my week has just been drastically rearranged. I make a quick escape, stock up on Gatorade, grab a taxi (with the capable assistance of Barton Kizer) and head for the hotel to weather who knows what and for how long. Cusco leper 2014, yes!!! You may not have experienced sickness in a different country before but I’m here to tell you it’s kinda scary. All of a sudden the rug gets ripped out from under you. There’s already new places, people, and a different language, and now you’re facing all this down feeling dead to the world with the hotel toilet as your new best friend. Forgive me, but all scary stuff. The sunny side to this story, however, came in the fact that I didn’t have to face it alone.

Monday: bed, bathroom, bed, bathroom, agonizing pain, pain med, bathroom. . . you get the picture. Thankfully, it was Dr. Jason McKeown to the rescue (who has been on call for past Cusco lepers) to break up this monotonous sick fest with IV saline and awesome bedside manner. It was indeed just what the doctor ordered and could not have come at a better time. . . I felt human again! Monday evening, Wes Blankenship stepped up to the plate and delivered the much needed supplies of Gatorade and water. Though these guys didn’t stick around when the action heated up again (couldn’t hold it against them I wouldn’t have either..haha) I was still feeling pretty thankful and really blessed.

Tuesday evening, one of the missionaries did the “Good Samaritan” and helped a brother out with more hydration and solid food! He graciously stuck around for a little and we shared a good talk and some laughs (I’m sure he could tell I was a little stir crazy and needed some human contact). In the meantime, while all this was going on, all the guys were constantly checking in on me making sure I had what I needed and letting me know they were only a shout out away for anything.

It wasn’t until Wednesday that I could walk, talk, and think like a real person, but alas it was too late to join up with the group for the day as they were out on location administering care to one of the more rural parts of Peru.

Thursday, I was finally back in action and what an amazing day God let me be a part of with a great and capable team of like-minded Christian folks who constantly, with care and compassion, inquired about my health. It was good to be back.

Now, I haven’t spoken much about the medical mission aspect of things. There are those who are better equipped to do that this time around seeing as how they kinda did more of it this year then I, unfortunately. I am, however, in a unique position to highlight one of the best things that can be gleaned from not only this trip but from whenever a Christian brother or sister is in need. First hand, I got a top notch display of the level of compassion, kindness, and selfless love that would make Christ proud. It’s an experience that is truly unique to those who are in Christ and thus members of His church. They really hit Phillipians 2:3,4 square on the head: “Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.” It truly took “a village” to heal Landon, and I’m thankful for each person who played a part. It’s a good feeling to know that you always have brothers and sisters who have your back. My prayer is that these efforts this year in Cusco will not only save souls, but will also validate people like was done for me, allowing them to experience the loving Christian family that God wants for each of His children.

Best wishes and God’s blessings,
Landon Wadley
(“Cusco Leper, 2014”)

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment